Zoology Faculty

Name
Email
Office Research
Kurt Amann kjamann@wisc.edu
233 Zoology Research
Cell biology, biochemistry, molecular mechanisms of cell motility and structure.
Bill Bement wmbement@wisc.edu
327 Bock Labs Cell biology, signal transduction, cytoskeleton, development
Seth Blair
ssblair@wisc.edu
315 Zoology Research
Developmental biology, neurobiology
Rob Bleiweiss
rebleiwe@wisc.edu
441 Birge Hall Biochemical systematics, DNA evolution, color vision, sexual dimorphism
Steve Carpenter
steve.carpenter@wisc.edu 206B Center for Limnology Aquatic and ecosystem ecology. Ecology and economics of ecosystem management
Ellen Damschen
damschen@wisc.edu
451 Birge Hall
Ecosystem ecology, species distribution
Stephen Gammie
scgammie@wisc.edu 412 Birge Hall Neurobiology, Neuroethology
Yevgenya Grinblat
ygrinblat@wisc.edu 125 Zoology Research Developmental genetics
Jeff Hardin
jdhardin@wisc.edu 327 Zoology Research Epithelial migration and embryonic development
Mary Halloran
mchalloran@wisc.edu 307 Zoology Research Development of the nervous system, axon guidance
Anthony Ives
arives@wisc.edu 459 Birge Hall
Theoretical ecology, experimental ecology, predator-prey interactions, terrestrial insect systems
Carol Lee
carollee@wisc.edu 420 Birge Hall
Genetic architecture, and speciation of invasive species; Physiological and morphological evolution during habitat transitions; functional evolutionary genomics, phenotypic evolution
Peter McIntyre
pmcintyre@wisc.edu 223B Center for Limnology Aquatic animal and ecosystem ecology; global biodiversity and conservation; biogeochemistry and food webs
Phil Newmark
pnewmark@wisc.edu
3266 Morgridge Institute for Research Planarian regeneration, germ cell development, schistosomes
John Orrock
jorrock@wisc.edu 356 Birge Hall Spatial ecology, behavioral ecology, plant-herbivore interactions, biological invasions, conservation biology
Warren Porter
wpporter@wisc.edu
207 Zoology Research
Infectious disease, Toxicology, Population dynamics, Physiological ecology, Biophysical ecology
Lauren Riters
lvriters@wisc.edu 428 Birge Hall
Animal behavior, neuroethology, neuroscience, and neuroendocrinology
Prashant Sharma
prashant.sharma@wisc.edu 352 Birge Hall
Phylogenomics; historical biogeography; macroevolution; comparative development
Antony Stretton
aostretton@wisc.edu
105 Zoology Research
Neurobiology
Emily Stanley
ehstanley@wisc.edu 218 Center for Limnology Landscape ecology; ecosystem ecology; fire ecology; simulation modeling; natural disturbance dynamics; role of spatial heterogeneity; scale; succession; land use.
Monica Turner
turnermg@wisc.edu
432 Birge Hall
Landscape ecology; ecosystem ecology; fire ecology; simulation modeling; natural disturbance dynamics; role of spatial heterogeneity; scale; succession; land use.
Jake Vander Zanden
mjvanderzand@wisc.edu
226A Center for Limnology Limnology, food web dynamics, aquatic invasive species, ecological restoration, benthic production
Marc Wolman
mawolman@wisc.edu
213 Zoology Reseach
Genetic basis of behavior, neural circuit formation and function

Honorary Fellows

Name
Email
Office
Research
Bobbi Peckarsky
peckarsky@wisc.edu 453 Birge Hall
Field studies of behavior, life histories and biological interactions among stream-dwelling invertebrates; mechanisms, consequences and evolution of predator-prey and competitive interactions; invertebrates as indicators of stream water quality; systematics of aquatic insects.

Affiliated Faculty

Name
Department Research
Anthony Auger
Psychology
Behavioral Neuroendocrinology
Johanne Brunet
Entomology
Gene flow in populations with particular emphasis on insect pollinators.
Cameron Currie
Bacteriology
Microbial ecology and evolution, Symbiosis, Coevolution
William Engels
Genetics Transposable elements, population genetics
Donna Fernandez
Botany Plant cell and developmental biology
Tony Goldberg
School of Veterinary Medicine
Ecology‚ Epidemiology‚ and Evolution of Health and Disease
Claudio Gratton
Entomology Food webs, biological control, aphid ecology
John Hawks
Anthropology Morphological and genetic aspects of human evolution
William Karasov
Wildlife Ecology
Nutritional physiology and ecology, ecotoxicology
Richard Lindroth
Entomology
Chemical ecology, trophic interactions, and global environmental change
Catherine Marler
Psychology
Endocrinology and animal behavior
Bret Payseur
Genetics Population genetics, genetics of speciation and genetics of morphological evolution
John Pool
Genetics Population Genomics and the Genetic Basis of Adaptive Evolution
Karen Strier
Anthropology Primate behavior and ecology, conservation